Lunchbox #3

First the “kid review” of Lunchbox #2. It was a hit in terms of its contents. The box, however, left a lot to be desired. I like it, but it’s not for little kid hands. So we’ll continue our search for the perfect lunchbox. In the meantime it’s back to our mix and match Sistema containers. I’m hoping for something into which I can put a wide variety of foods, a little bit of each.

Okay, now for Lunchbox #3:

  • Apple slices
  • Spicy almonds
  • Pistachios
  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Animal shaped carrots sauteed in butter
  • Flower cut canteloupe
  • Salami

 

???????????????????????????????

I didn’t need to cut the cantaloupe into flowery shapes to entice them to eat it…I just did that because it’s fun and pretty. The carrots are a different story. I’m in “carrot recruiting” stage right now. They’re generally opposed to carrots, but will eat most other vegetables without any problem. So I thought I’d make them cute (animal shapes) and ridiculously yummy (browned in butter) as part of my carrot recruiting. It’s essentially the vegetable dating period. After they love carrots they can just get a bag of raw baby carrots thrown in! 🙂

If you cut the carrots on the bias, you’ll get a larger surface from which to stamp your animal shape. I cut the carrots with these to form the animal shapes. They were quite easy to use. The animals are tiny, but that’s fine with us!

Carrots cut on the bias one      IMG_0428    ???????????????????????????????

Then I sauteed them in butter. After they were done, I diced up the rest of the carrot and threw it in for it’s turn to cook, becuase… um… butter sauteed carrots! Yum!

   IMG_0429

They turned out like this:

???????????????????????????????

We’ll see what gets eaten and what comes home! Regardless, I’m determined to persist in recruiting them to my ideas about veggies.

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

